The year of hibernation: Youth Lagoon calls it a day

“I am bringing down the curtains, brothers & sisters,” said Trevor Powers.

After three albums, and five years, Trevor Powers has called time on his Youth Lagoon moniker. He released 2011’s ‘The Year of Hibernation’, and ‘Wondrous Bughouse’ two years later. Youth Lagoon’s latest album was last year’s ‘Savage Hills Ballroom.’

Issuing a Twitter statement, Trevor Powers confirmed that he will be touring his latest album, before retiring the Youth Lagoon project. “I am bringing down the curtains, brothers and sisters,” Powers wrote. “There is nothing left to say through Youth Lagoon. It will exist no more.”

Powers cited the huge success of the Youth Lagoon project as a major factor, writing “I’ve reached the top of a mountain, only to then be able to see a much larger one I want to ascend,” Powers wrote in his farewell to fans. “It’s odd to realize that something you’ve created can have the power of wrapping a leash around your neck & holding you hostage.”

Though his Youth Lagoon alter-ego might be calling it quits, Trevor Powers promises he will carry on making music. “There is so much left to say, but it will not be through Youth Lagoon,” Powers said. “This is far from the end of my undertakings/it is the beginning.”

Trevor Powers previously shared a brand new track ‘I’ve Seen’ - which he described as a “farewell” to his ‘Savage Hills Ballroom’ album.

View Youth Lagoon’s final tour dates below. He’ll also play Field Day later in the summer.

03 Leeds, Belgrave Music Hall
04 Manchester, Band on the Wall
05 Glasgow, King Tut’s
06 Dublin, Whelan’s
08 Bristol, Thekla
09 London, Village Underground
10 Brighton, Komedia

Read More

Dream a little dream: Whenyoung

Dream a little dream: Whenyoung

Moving from Limerick to London via Dublin, Whenyoung’s debut arrives as an ode to passion, togetherness, leaving small-town thinking behind and following your dreams.

Unite and conquer: Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes

Unite and conquer: Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes

Over the last five years, Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes have blazed a cathartic trail across the world. As they release third album ‘End of Suffering’, they dig deep for the sake of sparking hope.