Indie 100: Angel Olsen and PWR BTTM are the first to contribute to ‘Our First 100 Days’

Theirs are the first unreleased songs from the Secretly Group’s compilation.

Earlier this month, the Secretly Group announced plans to release a compilation of 100 previously unreleased tracks through Bandcamp for each of Donald Trump’s first hundred days in office.

Now that The Trump is now in the White House, the compilation has kicked off, with Angel Olsen and PWR BTTM being the first featured artists on ‘Our First 100 Days’.

Angel’s ‘Fly On Your Wall’ is a downbeat, slow-burning number that eventually blossoms with a small wave of shimmering synths, clashing drums and her own own pained, deeply emotional vocals. PWR BTTM’s effort ‘Vacation’ is similarly downbeat. Well, at first. By the end of the two-minute track it explodes into a complete frenzy.

In the coming months, Toro Y Moi, Mitski, Beach Fossils, Jens Lekman and many more are set to contribute to the collection, which aims to raise awareness and funds for organisations threatened by the Trump administration.

Subscribe to the compilation here and listen to both ‘Fly On Your Wall’ and ‘Vacation’ below.

More like this

Return of the Mac: Orlando Weeks

Return of the Mac: Orlando Weeks

Last month, former Maccabees frontman Orlando Weeks debuted his first proper solo material since the band’s split. We caught up with the singer for an exclusive chat about what he’s been concocting…