Listen: Ulrika Spacek have announced their new album ‘Modern English Decoration’

Ulrika Spacek have announced their new album ‘Modern English Decoration’

They’ve also lifted the lid on opening track ‘Mimi Pretend’!

Little more than a year after the release of ‘The Album Paranoia’, Ulrika Spacek have announced plans to release their second album.

‘Modern English Decoration’ will be out on 2nd June, and like their debut it’s been recorded, produced and mixed in their shared house, a former art gallery called ‘KEN’. Why is it named ‘KEN’? It’s named after an inscription found above the front door (just prompting further questions about who ‘KEN’ actually is).

Singer, guitarist and synth player Rhys Edwards said in a statement: “We enjoy listening to music through the album format and want our records to reflect that”. He continued: “Though we may explore this in the future, our records are not ‘jam’ records. We’re fans of collage based art, and create music in the same way”. See the track listing for ‘Modern English Decoration’ below.

01 Mimi Pretend
02 Silvertonic
03 Dead Museum
04 Ziggy
05 Everything, all the time
06 Modern English Decoration
07 Full of Men 
08 Saw A Habit Forming
09 Victorian Acid
10 Protestant Work Slump

To whet the appetite, the band have also shared opening track ‘Mimi Pretend’, a reverberating and cavernous slab of lo-fi rock. As if that wasn’t enough, they’ve also lifted the lid on a few tour dates. On 8th March they’ll be playing at London’s Sebright Arms before heading off to support returning shoegaze icons Slowdive for a couple of dates. They’d already been confirmed for Liverpool’s Festevol in April, and the day before they’ll be at Portsmouth Psych Fest.

See Ulrika Spacek’s upcoming UK tour dates and listen to ‘Mimi Pretend’ below.


08 London, Sebright Arms
27 Glasgow, The Art School*
28 Liverpool, Arts Club*


29 Portsmouth, Portsmouth Psych Fest
30 Liverpool, Festevol

Default ad alt text goes here

Read More