Neu Pick: Ten Tonnes heads down to the pet shop for ‘Born to Lose’

Ten Tonnes heads down to the pet shop for ‘Born to Lose’

Fast-rising newcomer Ethan Barnett is today’s Neu Pick.

Every weekday, DIY’s new music know-it-all Neu brings you one essential new release to get obsessed with. Today’s Neu Pick comes from Ten Tonnes.

We’re not completely sure what the usual etiquette is when it comes to playing rock shows in pet shops (nor where the rest of his band is hidden away, tbh) but either way, that’s what Ten Tonnes gets up to in his new video for ‘Born To Lose’. 

It follows on from Ethan Barnett’s equally silly video for ‘Silver Heat,’ which showed the newcomer playing his guitar in the middle of a sizzling hot restaurant kitchen, and generally getting in the way. 

A deceptively chipper number - actually all about suffering from rotten bad luck - ‘Born to Lose’ was produced by Hugo White of The Maccabees, and is the title track of Ten Tonnes’ forthcoming EP (out on June 9th).

 “This song is about being down your luck,” says Barnett “never being able to get the upper hand over somebody, no matter how much you want to. I’m really pleased with it,” he added. So he should be.

We’ve got the first play of Ten Tonnes’ video for ‘Born to Lose’ - today’s Neu Pick. Watch it below, and keep a-scrollin’ to find all his upcoming tour dates.

05 Birmingham, O2 Institute 3 (with Will Joseph Cook)
06 Liverpool, Studio 2 (with Will Joseph Cook)
08 Cardiff, The Globe (with Will Joseph Cook)
09 Bristol, Thekla (with Will Joseph Cook)
11 London, Heaven (with Will Joseph Cook)
12 Oxford, The Bullingdon (with Will Joseph Cook)
19 The Great Escape, Brighton
26 Dot To Dot, Manchester
27 Dot To Dot, Bristol
28 Dot To Dot, Nottingham

10 Bushstock, Shepherds Bush, London

02 Barn on the Farm, Gloucester

25 Leeds Festival, Leeds
27 Reading Festival, Reading

09 Festival No. 6, Portmeirion

Shake It Up: Brittany Howard

Shake It Up: Brittany Howard

With Alabama Shakes, Brittany Howard found success beyond anything she could have imagined. Now, on solo album ‘Jaime’, she’s seeking satisfaction in other directions.