Paradise found: Cristobal and the Sea announce new album ‘Exitoca’

Cristobal and the Sea announce new album ‘Exitoca’

They’ve also shared a really random video for lead single ‘Goat Flokk’.

A couple of years on from their album ‘Sugar Now’, continent-hopping alt-pop outfit Cristobal and the Sea are set to return with a new LP.

‘Exitoca’ is out on 22nd September via City Slang, and it promises to be a trip into an alternative reality where people care about each other as well as the environment, can value more sensual experiences and aren’t afraid to dance their troubles away. Sounds great! The title itself is play on the ‘exotica’ genre, which represented the escapist dreams of Americans in the 50s and 60s, with the band aiming to reclaim the term from its privileged background for those who need it most now. See the tracklisting below.

1. Porcelanosa
2. Goat Flokk
3. Totem Tennis
4. Steal My Phone
5. Father and Producer
6. Salsa Dude
7. The Seed
8. Brother
9. Smadness
10. The Leaf Isn’t Turning Red
11. Before Nine
12. Uma Voz
13. Sa Ou Che
14. Take A Look At My Mind

The band have also shared a pretty, well, random video for the album’s jittery lead single ‘Goat Flokk’. Speaking about the video in a statement, they said: “I wanted to create a sort of psychedelic and cinematic enigma by suggesting links between the characters and their actions yet never really giving anyone the satisfaction of knowing what the hell is going on. The song really just called for something surreal, fast-paced and random and that’s just what we went for”.

Watch the video for ‘Goat Flokk’ and see Cristobal and the Sea’s upcoming tour dates below.

Default ad alt text goes here


06 Berlin, GER, Badehaus
10 Paris, FRA, Pop Up Du Label
17 London, UK, Moth Club

Read More