Listen: METZ announce new album ‘Strange Peace’ with ‘Cellophane’

METZ announce new album ‘Strange Peace’ with ‘Cellophane’

Hurrah! The Canadian punks are back with a new record via Sub Pop on 22nd September.

Hurrah! METZ are back with a new album, ‘Strange Peace’. The band’s third LP will come out in September via Sub Pop, and is being previewed by first single ‘Cellophane’.

A predictably riotous return, ‘Cellophane’ sees the band at their most vicious. Talking about the new record in a press release, the band say: “The songs on Strange Peace are about uncertainty.

“They’re about recognizing that we’re not always in control of our own fate, and about admitting our mistakes and fears. They’re about finding some semblance of peace within the chaos.”

The band are also set to head out on a world tour in support of the record, with support on the UK shows coming from exciting new Leeds trio Drahla.

View the tracklisting for ‘Strange Peace’, listen to ‘Cellophane’ and view the UK dates below.

01 Mess of Wires
02 Drained Lake
03 Cellophane
04 Caterpillar
05 Lost in the Blank City
06 Mr. Plague
07 Sink
08 Common Trash
09 Escalator Teeth
10 Dig a Hole
11 Raw Materials


22 London, Garage
23 Bristol, Fleece
24 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
25 Brighton, Haunt

Photo: Ebru Yildiz

More like this

Big Albums in 2020: The Magic Gang

Big Albums in 2020: The Magic Gang

With their self-titled debut, The Magic Gang smashed into the Top 20 and proved that indie wasn’t dead. Now, they’re broadening their horizons and getting ready to hit the sweet spot once again.