Listen: New Cannibal Hymns signings Underwater Boys step out with ‘Everyone You Know’

New Cannibal Hymns signings Underwater Boys step out with ‘Everyone You Know’

The Brighton-based brothers will play their first show with Our Girl in London tomorrow night (13th September).

Cannibal Hymns - the Brighton label home to DIY faves Our Girl, Abattoir Blues and more - have a new band! Brighton duo Underwater Boys are the latest signings to the label, and emerge with debut single ‘Everyone You Know’.

A pair of brothers - Tom and Nick Klar - Underwater Boys make hazy psych-pop that appears blissful on the surface but is underpinned by lyrical tensions. Before delving into its lyrical ins and outs though, ‘Everyone You Know’ is simply a very good, calm pop song led by irresistible vocal melodies. Beach House and Tame Impala are named as two of the duo’s influences, and they’re worn on their sleeve in this first offering.

The band are set to play their first show (ever!) tomorrow night (13th September) at The Lexington in London, supporting their new labelmates Our Girl. A few other shows are set up in the coming months, with a debut 7” featuring ‘Everyone You Know’ and an upcoming b-side called ‘Bye & Bye’ to be released soon.

For now, listen to the debut single and view the band’s upcoming live dates below.

Default ad alt text goes here

13 London, The Lexington (with Our Girl)
20 Brighton, Hope & Ruin (with Estrons)
30 Southampton, Heartbreakers (with Palm Honey)

11 London, Sebright Arms (headline show)

Read More