Listen: Franz Ferdinand announce new album ‘Always Ascending’

Franz Ferdinand announce new album ‘Always Ascending’

They’ve also shared the title track and details of a UK tour to boot!

Four years on from their last album ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’ (and a couple since their collaboration with Sparks, FFS), Franz Ferdinand are set to return with a new LP!

‘Always Ascending’ is due out on 9th February 2018 and, speaking to NME, frontman Alex Kapranos has suggested that it’s a bit of a departure from their guitar-based roots. He said: “This one sounds quite different from our previous records – it’s a bit wider and less of a ‘straight up guitar’ album”. See the tracklisting for the LP below.

01. Always Ascending
02. Lazy Boy
03. Paper Cages
04. Finally
05. The Academy Award
06. Lois Lane
07. Huck And Jim
08. Glimpse Of Love
09. Feel The Love Go
10. Slow Don’t Kill Me Slow

As well as details of the new album, Franz Ferdinand have also shared its title track – a strutting, disco-based dance-pop number – and details of a UK and Ireland tour that’ll take them from Galway to Brighton and many places in-between in February.

Listen to ‘Always Ascending’ and see Franz Ferdinand’s upcoming UK and Ireland tour dates below.

Default ad alt text goes here

10 Galway, Leisureland
11 Dublin, Olympia Theatre
13 Manchester, Albert Hall
14 Nottingham, Rock City
16 Newcastle, O2 Academy
17 Glasgow, O2 Academy
19 Leeds, O2 Academy
20 Birmingham, O2 Academy
21 Bristol, O2 Academy
23 Cambridge, Corn Exchange
24 London, O2 Brixton Academy
25 Brighton, Dome

Read More