Islands in the stream: Shopping are streaming their new album ‘The Official Body’

Shopping are streaming their new album ‘The Official Body’

They’ve also released a video for new single ‘Wild Child’!

Shopping are gearing up to release their new album ‘The Official Body’, which is out on 19th January (next week!) through FatCat.

Ahead of its release though, you can hear the whole collection over on NPR. The LP was recorded with production from Edwyn Collins, and at the time of the album’s announcement, vocalist Rachel Aggs said: “We’ve always felt like what we do is political in that it’s cathartic and healing in some way, but at some point it just felt like making ‘political’ music was a bit like putting a tiny band aid on an enormous wound”. Featuring the single ‘The Hype’ – which also got a pool-party-themed clip – the record features nine other cuts from the trio, filled with hooks and post-punk licks. Listen to ‘The Official Body’ via NPR here.

Shopping have also just released a video for new single ‘Wild Child’. Speaking of the clip, the band say: “We worked with our pal Jack Barraclough to create this showbiz fantasy! The video is set on the hot new talent show “Wild Child” where the distinguished panel of judges Iona Ferrari, DJ Raggs and Ruby Waters are searching for the next big thing! Through a succession of mediocre and bizarre auditions we almost lose hope! But finally our patience is rewarded when the judges come across a raw and unflinching talent - the talent to be a cute dog named Shrew. Ya either got it or ya don’t”.

The band are also heading out on a UK tour next month. Tickets are on sale now.

Watch the video for ‘Wild Child’ and see Shopping’s upcoming UK tour dates below.

Default ad alt text goes here

01 Glasgow, Mono
02 Newcastle, Cluny 2
03 Manchester, The Eagle Salford
04 Nottingham, The Maze
05 Oxford, The Cellar
06 London, Moth Club
07 Bristol, Exchange (w/ Colleen Green)

Read More

Flaming MØ


Since her debut album, MØ has racked up hundreds of millions of plays as co-writer and vocalist on some of the biggest songs of the decade. Now, however, she’s ready to reclaim her own spotlight.