Listen: Loma share new track ‘Joy’

Loma share new track ‘Joy’

They’ve also announced a bunch of UK tour dates.

Cross Record’s Emily Cross and Dan Duszynski and Shearwater singer Jonathan Meiburg – known collectively as Loma – are releasing their self-titled debut album through Sub Pop on 16th February. 

After already sharing ‘Relay Runner’ and ‘Black Willow’, they’ve shared another cut from the record. ‘Joy’ is a deeply atmospheric slice from the group, featuring echoing percussion and strident, folk-like rhythms swirling around Emily’s vocals. 

Speaking of the initial session that brought about ‘Joy’, Jonathan said: “There was something special about the combination of the three of us, and very different from either of our bands. But I think we were afraid to say so out loud, for fear of jinxing it. I remember the hairs on the back of my neck standing up when Emily hit that high, screaming note on the clarinet on ‘Joy’; it sounded like a human voice”.

The band have also announced a tour of the UK and Ireland, which will take place in May and June. The tour will take them to Brighton, London, Bristol, Manchester, Leeds, Glasgow, Dublin and Liverpool. Tickets are on sale now.

Listen to ‘Joy’ and see the band’s upcoming UK and Ireland tour dates below. 

Default ad alt text goes here

30 Brighton, The Hope
31 London, The Lexington

01 Bristol, Rough Trade
03 Manchester, Gullivers
04 Leeds, Headrow House
05 Glasgow, Hug and Pint
07 Dublin, Whelan’s
08 Liverpool, Buyers Club

Read More

Bringing sexy back: Marika Hackman

Bringing sexy back: Marika Hackman

On her second LP, Marika ditched folk for something altogether more ballsy. This time round she’s dropping any last semblances of cute and prioritising slickness, sass and a hefty dose of sex.