Listen: SLUG announces new album ‘HiggledyPiggledy’

SLUG announces new album ‘HiggledyPiggledy’

He’s also shared new track ‘No Heavy Petting’.

Three years on from the release of debut album ‘Ripe’, SLUG is back with details of a new LP.

‘HiggledyPiggledy’ is set to be released on 13th April via Memphis Industries and, whereas ‘Ripe’ was made alongside Peter and David Brewis of Field Music, Ian Black has composed, produced and played the entirety of the LP. As such, he’s had full creative freedom over his own brand of Dada-rock. 

Coinciding with the announcement, SLUG has also shared lead single ‘No Heavy Petting’. Speaking of the track, Ian said: “”No heavy Petting” was kind of a task I gave myself to try and write a “sexy song,” to see if I could do it. So I did a bit of research by turning on a music channel. I was drunk and I realised, while the synthesised marimba, bleeps and drum machines and images of young men and women grinding all over each other, that I’d probably left it a little too late at the age of 35”.

SLUG also has a few UK tour dates lined up, taking him to Leeds, Glasgow, Manchester and London in April and May before heading to Deer Shed Festival in July. Tickets go on sale from 10am on Friday 2nd February.

Listen to ‘No Heavy Petting’ and see SLUG’s upcoming tour dates below.

Default ad alt text goes here

27 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
29 Glasgow, The Hug and Pint
30 Manchester, Soup Kitchen

01 London, The Lexington

21 Deer Shed Festival

Read More