Listen: Albert Hammond Jr of The Strokes announces new album ‘Francis Trouble’

Albert Hammond Jr of The Strokes announces new album ‘Francis Trouble’

The album is being previewed by first single ‘Muted Beatings’.

Albert Hammond Jr has announced details of his new album!

‘Francis Trouble’ will come out via Red Bull on 9th March and is being previewed by first single ‘Muted Beatings’.

The new album concerns Albert’s twin brother Francis, who was stillborn at the time of Albert’s birth.

“What the music says may be serious, but as a medium it should not be questioned, analyzed or taken too seriously,” the singer says of the new album in a press release.

“I think it should be tarted up, made into a character, a parody of itself. The music is the mask the message wears and I, the performer, am the message.”

AHJ is set to support Franz Ferdinand on their upcoming UK/EU tour, beginning this month. He’s also scheduled a London headline show at Dingwalls.

Listen to ‘Muted Beatings’ and view the tour dates below.

13 Manchester, Albert Hall
14 Nottingham, Rock City
15 Newcastle, O2 Academy
17 Glasgow, O2 Academy
19 Leeds, O2 Academy
20 Birmingham, O2 Academy
21 Bristol, O2 Academy
23 Cambridge, Corn Exchange
24 London, Brixton Academy
25 Brighton, Dome
27 Paris, Le Point Ephemere
28 Amsterdam, Paradiso

01 London, Dingwalls (headline show)

(all dates with Franz Ferdinand except 1st March)

Photo: Autumn De Wilde

Read More

Nilüfer Yanya: Space Oddity

Nilüfer Yanya: Space Oddity

Solidifying all her early promise on gorgeously rich debut album ‘Miss Universe’, Nilüfer Yanya confronts the paranoia of the social media generation, marking herself out as truly special new voice.

Karen O & Danger Mouse​​: ​Celestial Beings

Karen O & Danger Mouse: Celestial Beings

Two New York legends – Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ iconic frontwoman Karen O and super-producing polymath Danger Mouse – have teamed up for a heavenly collaboration that looks to the stars.

Self Esteem: Independent Woman, Part 2

Self Esteem: Independent Woman, Part 2

For the best part of a decade, Rebecca Taylor was one half of indie folk duo Slow Club. Now, she’s setting her powerhouse pipes free with a solo pop project full of humour, sass and wild ambition.