Watch: Whenyoung share video for new track ‘The Collector’

Whenyoung share video for new track ‘The Collector’

The track is the b-side to recent single ‘Pretty Pure’, and comes ahead of the band’s tour with Peace.

Ireland via London’s Whenyoung released their brilliant single ‘Pretty Pure’ back in January, and they’ve now shared its b-side to coincide with a physical 7” release via YALA! Records.

‘The Collector’ is a slower, more meditative cut, and comes complete with a brilliant new video.

Speaking of the video in a press release, vocalist Aoife Power says: ”The video for The Collector documents the simple, everyday movements that everyone experiences.

“We are all carrying out the same routine to show that we are all connected in the universal tasks of daily life but still individually searching for a sense of place and belonging. The gentle tones and slow paced everyday storyline was inspired by the films of Eric Rohmer.”

Whenyoung play Manchester with Declan McKenna and Superfood tonight (6th March), after a huge London show at The Forum last night. They then join Peace on tour next month, and play Alexandra Palace with The Vaccines and Dream Wife. It’s all go for Whenyoung!

The band are also set to play the DIY stage at the Brudenell Social Club for this year’s Live At Leeds.

Catch up with our Neu interview with the trio here, and watch the video for ‘The Collector’ and view the tour dates below.

06 Manchester, Academy (with Declan McKenna and Superfood)
14 London, Alexandra Palace (with The Vaccines and Dream Wife)

05 Leeds, Live at Leeds (DIY stage at the Brudenell Social Club)
05 Newcastle, Meet the North
06 Liverpool, Sound City
08 Glasgow, Saint Luke’s
09 Sheffield, The Leadmill
11 York, Fibbers
12 Derby, The Venue
13 Hull, The Welly Club
15 Norwich, The Waterfront
16 London, The O2 Forum
19 Southampton, Engine Rooms
20 Bristol, SWX
22 Reading, Sub89
23 Leicester, Dryden Street Social
24 Birmingham, O2 Academy

all dates with Peace unless stated

Read More

Show Me The Body: back in the New York groove

Show Me The Body: back in the New York groove

World tours and a hype-harvesting debut album made this trio one of America’s most essential groups. Back home in New York, they explain how ‘devotional’ new LP ‘Dog Whistle’ expanded their horizons.

PUP: Dead Funny

PUP: Dead Funny

The Toronto punks return with third album ‘Morbid Stuff’, a record that laughs and rages in the face of death and despair with bags of wit, humour and defiance.

In The Fair City: Fontaines DC

In The Fair City: Fontaines DC

Ahead of the release of their explosive debut, we meet Fontaines DC in the city that shaped them, to unpack the creative ethos driving their success.