Listen EERA announces collaborative ‘Friends’ EP with ALASKALASKA cover of ‘I Wanna Dance’

EERA announces collaborative ‘Friends’ EP with ALASKALASKA cover of ‘I Wanna Dance’

The Norwegian supports Mitski on her UK/EU tour later this month.

EERA released her great debut album ‘Reflection Of Youth’ last year, and ahead of a series of UK and European support slots with Mitski, she’s announced details of a new collaborative EP.

The ‘Friends’ release - out on 26th September - will feature covers of tracks from the album by ALASKALASKA, Douglas Dare, Farao and The Mantis Opera. Today, we’re sharing ALASKALASKA’s version of ‘I Wanna Dance’ on DIY.

The track is brought into the London six-piece’s left-of-centre pop world on the cover, with Lucinda John-Duarte’s distinctive vocals circling around gloopy synths to answer the heed of the track’s title, before an extended, woozy outro sends the track off into the sunset.

“I’ve always wanted to do a sort of collaboration with my friends, and I thought that this would be the perfect way to do it,” EERA says of the new release.

“I’ve never been a  fan of remixes, so I figured that a covers EP would be way more exciting! These guys are not only some of my best mates, they’re also incredibly talented musicians, so I feel very humbled that they agreed to do this.”

Listen to the ALASKALASKA cover of ‘I Wanna Dance’, view the tracklisting for ‘Friends’ and see EERA’s Mitski support dates below.

01 ALASKALASKA - I Wanna Dance
02 Farao - Reflection Of Youth
03 The Mantis Opera - Trust
04 Douglas Dare - Watching You

19 Manchester, Gorilla
20 Glasgow, Saint Luke’s
22 Dublin, Tivoli Theatre
24 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
25 Bristol, Trinity
26 London, Shepherd’s Bush Empire
28 Paris, La Maroquinerie
29  Antwerp, TRIX

01 Cologne, Gebäude 9 
02 Amsterdam, Paradiso Noord (Tolhuistuin)
04 Berlin, Musik & Frenden
05 Copenhagen, Vega
06 Hamburg, Uebel & Gefährlich

Read More

Show Me The Body: back in the New York groove

Show Me The Body: back in the New York groove

World tours and a hype-harvesting debut album made this trio one of America’s most essential groups. Back home in New York, they explain how ‘devotional’ new LP ‘Dog Whistle’ expanded their horizons.

PUP: Dead Funny

PUP: Dead Funny

The Toronto punks return with third album ‘Morbid Stuff’, a record that laughs and rages in the face of death and despair with bags of wit, humour and defiance.

In The Fair City: Fontaines DC

In The Fair City: Fontaines DC

Ahead of the release of their explosive debut, we meet Fontaines DC in the city that shaped them, to unpack the creative ethos driving their success.