News IDLES, The 1975 win at Ivor Novello songwriting awards

IDLES, The 1975 win at Ivor Novello songwriting awards

The ceremony took place in central London this afternoon.

IDLES and The 1975 were among the winners at this afternoon’s Ivor Novello award ceremony in London.

The awards “celebrate excellence in songwriting and screen composition”.

IDLES’ ‘Joy As An Act Of Resistance’ received the Best Album gong, while The 1975’s ‘Love It If We Made It’ won Best Contemporary Song, while the band collectively received the Best Songwriter prize.

Jonny Greenwood’s ‘Phantom Thread’ received the Best Original Film Score prize, Bat For Lashes and Dominik Scherrer’s ‘Requiem’ the Best Television Soundtrack, and Ben Howard won Best Song Musically and Lyrically for ‘Nica Libres at Dusk’.

Wiley received the Inspiration Award, and Richard Ashcroft the PRS For Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music gong, after which he revealed that Rolling Stones’ Mick Jagger and Keith Richards have agreed to have their names removed from the credits for ‘Bitter Sweet Symphony.

“It gives me great pleasure to announce as of last month Mick Jagger and Keith Richards agreed to give me their share of the song Bitter Sweet Symphony,” he says in a statement. “This remarkable and life affirming turn of events was made possible by a kind and magnanimous gesture from Mick and Keith, who have also agreed that they are happy for the writing credit to exclude their names and all their royalties derived from the song they will now pass to me.

I would like to thank the main players in this, my management Steve Kutner and John Kennedy, the Stones manager Joyce Smyth and Jody Klein (for actually taking the call) lastly a huge unreserved heartfelt thanks and respect to Mick and Keith.

Music is power.”

The full list of winners is:

Best Song Musically And Lyrically – Ben Howard’s Nica Libres At Dusk
Best Contemporary Song – The 1975’s Love It If We Made
Album Award – Idles’ Joy As An Act Of Resistance
Best Original Film Score – Jonny Greenwood’s Phantom Thread
Best Television Soundtrack – Bat For Lashes and Dominik Scherrer’s Requiem
Songwriter of the Year – The 1975
PRS For Music Most Performed Work – Rudimental’s These Days (ft. Jess Glynne, Macklemore & Dan Caplen)
Best Original Video Game Score – Robin Beanland’s Sea Of Thieves
The Ivors Jazz Award – Django Bates
Inspiration Award – Wiley
Outstanding Song Collection – Dido
PRS For Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music – Richard Ashcroft
PRS For Music Special International Award – Mariah Carey
International Achievement – Deep Purple

More like this