Listen Sleater-Kinney share new track ‘Can I Go On’

Sleater-Kinney share new track ‘Can I Go On’

It’s the latest look into their upcoming album ‘The Center Won’t Hold’.

With their St. Vincent produced new record ‘The Center Won’t Hold’ set to impact on 16th August, Sleater-Kinney - now just Carrie Brownstein and Corin Tucker following Janet Weiss’ departure earlier this month - are sharing the latest glimpse of what’s to come.

Releasing ‘Can I Go On’ today, it’s lighter musically than the previous releases but packs a punch in the lyrics. “Sell our rage, buy and trade, but we still cry for free every day…… maybe I’m not sure I wanna go on at all.” Carrie explains. “In this song, a woman’s desire is used against her, so she turns it into a sinister infectiousness. The narrator finds herself on the brink of self-annihilation, grappling with the paradox of an internal darkness at odds with the pressure to outwardly perform modes of joy, relatability, and likability.”

Take a listen to the new track below, and catch the group on tour in Europe, UK and Ireland next year at the following dates:


18 - Astra, Berlin

19 - Paradiso, Amsterdam

21 - Botanique, Brussels

22 - Batschkapp, Frankfurt

24 - Le Trianon, Paris

26 - O2 Academy Brixton, London

27 - Manchester Academy, Manchester

28 - Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow


01 - Vicar Street, Dublin

More like this

Sleater-Kinney: Things Fall Apart

Sleater-Kinney: Things Fall Apart

We meet Sleater-Kinney as a trio and leave them as a duo. With their inner workings altered, but their most progressive work at their fingertips, we find a band stepping into an unexpected new dawn.