My Bloody Valentine Release ‘m b v’

To Here Knows When: The follow up to ‘Loveless’ is finally unveiled.

Finally, the follow up to My Bloody Valentine’s seminal 1991 album, ‘Loveless’ has been released.

After updating their social media earlier this evening to say that the record was going to come out tonight, on the stroke of midnight their website finally revealed title to be ‘m b v’. The album is available from in three formats, download only, cd and download, or vinyl, cd and download; with the physical copies to be shipped within three weeks of purchase.

The tracklisting is:

1. she found now
2. only tomorrow
3. who sees you
4. is this and yes
5. if i am
6. new you
7. in another way
8. nothing is
9. wonder 2

This record has been rumoured to be in production, on and off, since 1992 when Island Records signed Kevin Shields’ band for allegedly around £250,000. They’d been dropped by Creation after the record that’s considered by many to be their masterpiece, ‘Loveless’, failed to make much of a dent on the charts, and was said to have almost bankrupted that label.

In 1999, after using all of their advance to build a studio, it was reported that Shields had delivered 60 hours worth of ‘jungle influenced material’ to Island. Since then, there’s been whispers abandoned records (with Kevin himself confirming that at least one album’s worth had been shelved), but still no physical release.

Shortly after they reformed in 2007, the band started to talk about the possibility of a new record. Speaking to Magnet magazine, Shields said that ‘A lot of people say the reason My Bloody Valentine didn’t make another record is because we couldn’t. That’s mostly true, but not because we couldn’t make another record, but because I never could be bothered to make another record unless I was excited by it. And just by fate or whatever, that never happened.

“I’d feel really bad if I didn’t make another record. Like, ‘Shit, people only got the first two chapters, but the last bit is the best bit’.”

It might have taken another five or so years, but at the end of last year, the band posted on their Facebook page that they’d finished mastering the record. And last weekend, at their Brixton warm up date, as well as playing a new song (which does not appear to be on the album tracklisting, so it looks like ‘rough song’ was more of a description than a title), Shields did respond to a heckler to say that the album would be released in the next ‘two or three days, maybe.’

Shields, who over the years has come under enormous pressure to produce this follow up, is not exactly famed for his sense of humour. So, whilst he’s taken a bit longer to release it than that retort suggested (shocker), we probably shouldn’t be too surprised that he wasn’t entirely joking.

Catch MBV playing ‘m b v’ on the following UK dates:

08 Birmingham, O2 Academy
09 Glasgow, Barrowlands
10 Manchester, Apollo
12 London, Hammersmith Apollo
13 London, Hammersmith Apollo