Julian Casablancas + The Voidz announce debut album, ‘Tyranny’

Julian Casablancas + The Voidz announce debut album, 'Tyranny'

The record will be released by Casablancas’ own Cult Records.

Julian Casablancas + The Voidz have announced details of their reasonably long-awaited debut album.

A teaser video was posted online back in March, in which Casablancas and pals previewed music alongside a few details about their project - which features The Strokes’ frontman alongside guitarists Jeramy Gritter and Amir Yaghmai, keyboardist Jeff Kite, bassist Jake Bercovici, and drummer Alex Carapetis.

'Tyranny' will be released on 23rd September via Casablancas' own Cult Records.

Of the title, he explains "Tyranny has come in many forms throughout history. Now, the good of business is put above anything else, as corporations have become the new ruling body. Most decisions seem to be made like ones of a medieval king: whatever makes profit while ignoring and repressing the truth about whatever suffering it may cause (like pop music, for that matter)."

The band have unveiled North American tour dates, beginning in mid-October.

16 Philadelphia, PA Electric Factory
17 Washington, DC 9:30 Club
18 Charlottesville, VA Jefferson Theatre
20 Chattanooga, TN Track 29
21 Nashville, TN Marathon Music Works
22 Atlanta, GA Masquerade
28 Birmingham, AL Iron City
30 Austin, TX Emo's
31 Houston, TX House of Blues

6 Los Angeles, CA Wiltern Theatre
9 San Francisco, CA Regency Center
11 Portland, OR Crystal Ballroom
13 Seattle, WA Showbox

Casablancas released solo album, 'Phrazes for the Young' in October 2009, and with The Strokes was last seen with last year's 'Comedown Machine'. He also appears on the Daft Punk track 'Instant Crush', from 'Random Access Memories'.

Get your copy of the latest issue

More like this