Johnny Marr unveils ‘The Trap’ song from new LP

Johnny Marr unveils ‘The Trap’ song from new LP

Second solo album ‘Playland’ is due out this October.

Legendary guitarist Johnny Marr has unveiled ‘The Trap’, the second track to be taken from his forthcoming solo album ‘Playland’.

This is the former Smiths guitarist’s second solo release, following 2013’s ‘The Messenger’.

Previously, Marr’s streamed ‘Easy Money’, a thumping lead track that went hand in

hand with a class stricken video.

Now ‘The Trap’ is streaming via the Radcliffe and Maconie show on BBC Radio 6 Music. Speaking to the hosts about his new record, he also premiered the new song.

Listen to ‘The Trap’ from 53 minutes onwards on BBC 6 Music.

‘Playland’ is out 6th October. Check out forthcoming dates:

13 Lincoln, The Engine Shed
14 Southend, Cliffs Pavilion
15 Bexhill, De La Warr
17 Wolverhampton, Civic Hall
18 Cardiff, Great Hall
20 Bournemouth, O2 Academy
21 Cambridge, Corn Exchange
23 London, Brixton Academy
24 Bath, Pavilion
25 Manchester, O2 Apollo
27 Glasgow, O2 Academy
28 Newcastle, O2 Academy
29 Leeds, O2 Academy


We’re often asked by potential advertisers about you, our readers. So we’d really appreciate it if you’d offer up a bit of information about you, and your music-loving habits by filling in our 2019 readers’ survey.

Click here to reach the 2019 DIY readers’ survey.

(Don’t worry, none of what we’re asking for is personally identifiable - and no questions are compulsory.)

More like this

The Road Less Travelled: The Big Moon

The Road Less Travelled: The Big Moon

Having released one of the most beloved indie debuts of recent years, The Big Moon had some big shoes to fill with LP2. In ‘Walking Like We Do’, they’ve made the journey in style.