Listen: The National and Menomena members combine to form Pfarmers

The National and Menomena members combine to form Pfarmers

The new band will release their debut album this May.

Members of The National and Menomena have joined forces to form a new band - Pfarmers.

Made up of Danny Seim (Menomena, Lackthereof), Bryan Devendorf (The National), and Dave Nelson (David Byrne & St. Vincent, Sufjan Stevens), the new group will release their debut album, ‘Gunnera’, on 12th May.

Explaining the album, Seim says: ”The record is about a dream I had where I’m reluctantly accepting a fear of drowning by focusing on being reincarnated as a giant Gunnera plant, which thrive on the banks of rivers (specifically the Jordan River i.e. the Biblical promised land) after I paint myself gold and sink to the bottom like the El Dorado of South American folklore.”

A first track from the album - ‘The Ol’ River Gang’ - can be streamed below:

More like this

Moving On Up: Willie J Healey

Moving On Up: Willie J Healey

It’s been a slow and steady journey for Willie J Healey, but new LP ‘Twin Heavy’ finds the singer coming into his own, and making some new mates along the way.

Divine Intervention: Angel Olsen

Divine Intervention: Angel Olsen

For her new opus, ‘Whole New Mess’ finds Angel Olsen looking to the future but reaching back to the past, to an emotionally-purging set of recordings that would lead the singer to her rawest work yet.