Listen: Kevin Morby shares new single ‘Moonshiner

Kevin Morby shares new single ‘Moonshiner’

The former Woods member will release a new solo album on new label Dead Oceans in 2016.

Los Angeles-based singer-songwriter Kevin Morby has shared a new single titled ‘Moonshiner’.

The former Woods live member is set to release the 7” single (backed by ‘Bridge To Gaia’) on 4th September through Dead Oceans, with a new full-length expected on the label in 2016. Morby’s Dead Oceans debut will follow ‘Still Life’, released on Woodsist in 2014.

In sharing the new single, Morby has provided a statement that summarises the literary influence behind ‘Moonshiner’. “I wrote ‘Moonshiner’ a dew years ago after reading what has become one of my favourite contemporary books: The Sisters Brothers,” Morby says. The book was very inspiring to me at that time, and it pulled a few different songs out of me - ‘Moonshiner’ being the most directly influenced.”

Kevin Morby embarks on a European tour in September following a performance at Los Angeles festival FYF on Sunday 23rd August. Tickets are on sale now.

Kevin Morby’s dates are as follows:

23 Los Angeles (CA), FYF Fest

07 Bristol, The Louisiana
08 York, The Fulford Arms
09 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club (Games Room)
10 Glasgow, Broadcast
11 London, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
12 Manchester, Albert Hall
14 Tilburg (NL), Incubate Festival
15 Dortmund (DE), FZW
16 Copenhagen (DK), Huset
17 Leipzig (DE), naTo
18 Mainz (DE), Schon Schon
19 Leffinge (BE), Leffingeleuren
20 Antwerp (BE), Het Bos
21 Paris (FR), Point Ephemere

Listen to ‘Moonshiner’ below.

More like this

Death or Glory: Fontaines DC

Death or Glory: Fontaines DC

In-fighting. Self-doubt. An entire scrapped album recording. This is the story of ‘A Hero’s Death’, and how it helped piece Fontaines DC back together again.