Listen: Darkside’s Dave Harrington announces new album ‘Become Alive’

Darkside's Dave Harrington announces new album 'Become Alive'

The Dave Harrington Group record is co-Produced by Nicolas Jaar.

Dave Harrington has announced a new album, ‘Become Alive’ with the Dave Harrington Group. Co-produced by his frequent collaborator and Darkside bandmate Nicolas Jaar, the record comes out on 15th April via Jaar’s label Other People.

The Dave Harrington Group is a modest and compact band, with just a few (ahem) members. The full band line-up is - deep breath - Ben Lieberman, Tlacael Esparza, Cale Parks, Will Epstein, Morgan Z, Dave Harrington, Jordan Goldstein, Nate Sloan, Andrew Fox, Dr. Kevin Patton, Nicolas Jaar, and Samer Ghadry. Fitting everyone in press shots is a total nightmare.

Speaking about the process of making ‘Become Alive,’ Harrington said: “This record is the result of improvising with different combinations of people, and then processing and re-sculpting those improvisations—isolating passages, turning them into something new, overdubbing layers of myself, maybe taking something from another piece and superimposing it out of its original context. But each track is always me interacting with other people, sometimes just one or two… sometimes ten. There was flute, vibes, organ, Fender Rhodes, guitar, bass, two drummers, percussion, sax…just full-on, over-blown energy. I took all that and treated it as raw material in the mixing stage… but when you have ten people in a room, you can only edit so much. Everything is in every microphone anyway—it’s all connected, so it’s about turning it into whatever it wants to be.”

The tracklist for ‘Become Alive is as follows:

01 White Heat
02 Slides
03 The Prophet
04 Cities of the Red Night
05 Steels
06 Become Alive
07 Spectrum
08 All I Can Do

Listen the The Dave Harrington Group’s new title track below.

Get your copy of the latest issue

More like this