Listen: Wesley Gonzalez announces debut LP ‘Excellent Musician’, shares new track ‘Exhibition Song’

Wesley Gonzalez announces debut LP ‘Excellent Musician’, shares new track ‘Exhibition Song’

Beat that for an album title, bands of 2017.

Former Let’s Wrestle frontman Wesley Gonzalez has announced details of his forthcoming debut solo LP, gloriously entitled ‘Excellent Musician’.

Set for release on June 30th via Moshi Moshi, Gonzalez describes the record as “angry music” influenced by the more melodic likes of Sly & the Family Stone, Donny Hathaway and The Beatles. Which frankly sounds fantastic.

Alongside the announcement, Gonzalez has also shared the first taste of the record in the form of ‘Exhibition Song’ - a track about being too lazy to go to an art gallery.

Of the track, the singer states: “My girlfriend and I were planning on going to see the Sarah Lucas exhibition at Whitechapel Gallery a few years ago, it was the last weekend it was on and I remember us both being too lazy to go, but also complaining that we weren’t going. I think the song is about security in a relationship, that you can be okay with someone’s presence with whatever you are doing. I’m sure the exhibition was okay, I’ve seen a lot of Sarah Lucas stuff before anyways, so fuck it, I got a song out of it!”

Listen to ‘Exhibition Song’ and view ‘Excellent Musician”s tracklisting below.

01 An Adult
02 I Am A Telescope
03 Just The Same
04 Still Working On It
05 Just A Piece Of Mind
06 I Spoke To Euan
07 Exhibition Song
08 Cake On Your Birthday
09 Snake In The Grass
10 In Amsterdam
11 Don’t Try & Take Me Down
12 Not That Kind Of Guy
13 Quarantined River


We’re often asked about you, our readers. So we’d really appreciate it if you’d offer up a bit of information about you, and your music-loving habits by filling in our 2019 readers’ survey.

Click here to reach the 2019 DIY readers’ survey.

(Don’t worry, none of what we’re asking for is personally identifiable - and no questions are compulsory.)

More like this