Listen: Ghostpoet returns with ‘Immigrant Boogie’

The track is the first since Obaro Ejimiwe’s 2015 LP ‘Shedding Skin’.

Hello again, Ghostpoet. The singer is back today with his first single since 2015 LP ‘Shedding Skin’ in the form of ‘Immigrant Boogie’.

Talking about the track, Obaro Ejimiwe says: “It’s a first person account of a difficult journey across borders, partly intended to ask those who have questioned the arrival of refugees in recent times what they would do in the same situation.

The song is written in two halves - the first hopeful for a brighter future, while the second sees hope snatched away by forces beyond the control of the storyteller.

There is an important story to be told there, but I wrote the song in a way that aims to capture a broader human truth: that while we are all working for a better life for ourselves, we have to accept that we are not in control of the outcome”

The track’s taken from what we assume will be a new Ghostpoet album, out later this year. The singer’s also announced a huge UK tour for the Autumn. Listen to ‘Immigrant Boogie’ and view the tour dates below.


24 DUBLIN, Button Factory
25 LIVERPOOL, Invisible Wind Factory
26 NEWCASTLE, Riverside
28 GLASGOW, Stereo
30 LEEDS, Brudenell Social Club
31 BIRMINGHAM, Mama Rouxs


02 CAMBRIDGE, Junction 1
03 OXFORD, Academy 2
04 DOVER, The Booking Hall
06 LEICESTER, Academy 3
07 NOTTINGHAM, Rescue Rooms
08 BRIGHTON, Concorde 2
10 LONDON, Printworks
11 MANCHESTER, Academy 2
12 NORWICH, Arts Centre
13 PORTSMOUTH, Wedgewood Rooms
14 BRISTOL, Marble Factory

More like this