Big hugs: Broken Social Scene are releasing new album ‘Hug Of Thunder’ in July

The Canadian collective’s first album in seven years will feature Feist, Metric and Stars!

After sharing the soaring ‘Halfway Home’ back in March, Canadian collective Broken Social Scene have officially announced their comeback album!

‘Hug Of Thunder’ will be released on 7th July. It’s the follow up to 2010’s ‘Forgiveness Rock Record’, making the new release their first in a whopping years. It’s also been confirmed that the album will feature contributions from Metric’s Emily Haines and James Shaw, Amy Millan and Evan Cranley of Stars, as well as Feist, who released her own comeback album ‘Pleasure’ earlier in the year. See the tracklisting for ‘Hug Of Thunder’ below.

01. Sol Luna
02. Halfway Home
03. Protest Song
04. Skyline
05. Stay Happy Stay Happy Stay Happy Stay Happy
06. Vanity Pail Kids
07. Hug of Thunder
08. Towers and Masons
09. Victim Lover
10. Please Take Me With You
11. Gonna Get Better

The band also recently announced a string of dates across Europe for this month. They’ll be kicking things off at Manchester’s Albert Hall and London’s Brixton Academy before heading off to Neustrelitz, Antwerp, Amsterdam and Paris.

Listen to recent single ‘Halfway Home’ and see the band’s upcoming tour dates below.


23 Manchester, Albert Hall
24 London, Brixton Academy
26 Neustrelitz, Immergur Festival
28 Antwerp, Trix
29 Amsterdam, Paradiso
30 Paris, Alhambra

3 back issues for £7

3 back issues for £7

Buy Now

More like this