Lee Ranaldo announces album ‘Electric Trim’, shares track

Lee Ranaldo announces album ‘Electric Trim’, shares track

Sharon Van Etten features on six of the record’s songs.

Lee Ranaldo has announced details of a new solo album.

The former Sonic Youth man, last seen with 2013’s ‘Last Night on Earth’, will release ‘Electric Trim’ on 15th September via his new - but also old - home of Mute.

“I’m so excited about this record,” he says in a statement. “It represents new developments and directions for me and I can’t wait to hit the road and play this music live. I’m also so pleased to partner with Mute for this release – it’s like a homecoming of sorts as Sonic Youth’s early records were released on Blast First / Mute. To me Mute has always been a true artist’s label, concentrating first and foremost on the music. I can’t wait for everyone to hear this music.”

The record also features Sharon Van Etten - who sings on six tracks, and duets proper on one - titled ’Last Looks’. Other collaborators include Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley, and Wilco’s Nels Cline.

The track listing is:

Moroccan Mountains
Uncle Skeleton
Let’s Start Again
Last Looks
Circular (Right As Rain)
Electric Trim
Thrown Over The Wall
New Thing

Listen to ‘Circular (Right As Rain)’ below.

3 back issues for £7

3 back issues for £7

Buy Now

More like this