Watch: Sylvan Esso have shared visual EP ‘Echo Mountain Sessions’

It features full-band versions of tracks from new album ‘What Now’.

Amelia Meath and Nick Sanborn, better known as Sylvan Esso, recently released their latest album ‘What Now’, and back in April they headed to the Echo Mountain Studios in North Carolina to record a couple of very different versions of some of the record’s tracks.

Those versions have been collected together into a new visual EP, ‘Echo Mountain Sessions’. On it, they expanded out to a full band, which featured friends and collaborations from members of Mountain Man, Wye Oak, The Dead Tongues, The Mountain Goats and Megafun. Together, they reimagined ‘The Glow’, ‘Slack Jaw’, ‘Die Young’ and ‘Rewind’, the results being quite remarkably different to the originals.

Sylvan Esso will be headed out on tour of the UK (as a duo) in November, where they’ll be headed to Birmingham, Bristol, London, Manchester, Glasgow and Leeds. Tickets are on sale now.

Recently, we caught up with Nick to ask all about his earliest obsessions, both musical and otherwise. Read the full feature here.

Watch the ‘Echo Mountain Sessions’ EP and see Sylvan Esso’s UK tour dates below.


06 Birmingham, O2 Institute
07 Bristol, Trinity
08 London, Shepherd’s Bush Empire
11 Manchester, Gorilla
12 Glasgow, Art School
13 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now

More like this

Upbringing: Sylvan Esso

Upbringing: Sylvan Esso

With new album ‘No Rules Sandy’ out in the world, Amelia Meath looks back on the early days…