Listen: The War On Drugs unveil new track ‘Up All Night’

‘A Deeper Understanding’ comes out next Friday.

It’s little more than a week until The War On Drugs release their new album ‘A Deeper Understanding’.

So far, they’ve already revealed a clutch of tracks from the record, including ‘Holding On’, ‘Strangest Thing’ and ‘Pain’ (which they took to Kimmel’s outdoor stage recently). Now, ahead of the album’s release on 25th August via Atlantic, they’ve unveiled ‘Up All Night’, the opening track from the LP. It’s a shimmering cut from the group, one that straddles the line between their own take on classic rock and, in its jittery synths, electro-pop.

In November, The War On Drugs will be headed back to the UK to play a string of shows in Glasgow, Manchester and London. A few weeks ago, they added new dates to cope with popular demand. Tickets for all the dates are on sale now.

Listen to ‘Up All Night’ and see The War On Drugs’ upcoming UK tour dates below.


09 Glasgow, Barrowlands
10 Glasgow, Barrowlands (sold out)
12 Manchester, O2 Apollo (sold out)
13 Manchester, O2 Apollo
14 London, Alexandra Palace
15 Portsmouth, Guildhall

3 back issues for £7

3 back issues for £7

Buy Now

More like this

Clean Living: The War on Drugs

Clean Living: The War on Drugs

The War on Drugs may be gearing up to play their biggest UK shows yet but, as Joe Goggins discovers, their new-found success doesn’t rest easy with Adam Granduciel.