Listen The Twilight Sad are back with new single ‘I/m Not Here [missing face]’ and tour dates

The Twilight Sad are back! Fresh from playing last Saturday’s BST Hyde Park show with The Cure, the band have shared new single ‘I/m Not Here [missing face]’ and announced a slew of tour dates.

The new track - the band’s first since 2014 LP ‘Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave’ - is an intense, driving cut that’s as emotional and striking as we’ve come to expect from the Scots, who have signed to Mogwai’s Rock Action Records for their upcoming new album.

As vocalist James Graham explains, the new track concerns “my ongoing battle with not liking myself, trying to be a good person but constantly feeling like I’m failing myself and everyone I care about.”

The band’s Andy MacFarlane adds: “I was attempting to play ‘Ogives’ by Erik Satie, but I’m really shit at the piano so it didn’t happen, but I came up with the music using those chord shapes. So from my perspective, it’s a bad cover version of that piece of music.”

The band are also set to head out on an extensive tour, with dates across the UK, Europe and the US.

View the dates and listen to ‘I/m Not Here [missing face]’ below.

09 Los Angeles, Troubadour
10 San Diego, Casbah
12 Tustin, Marty's On Newport
14 San Francisco, Independent
17 Portland, Doug Fir
19 Seattle, Crocodile
20 Vancouver, Fox
25 St. Paul, Turf Club
26 Chicago, Theater on the Lake
27 Toronto, Velvet Underground
28 Montreal, Ritz
30 Boston, Middle East Downstairs

01 Brooklyn, Elsewhere
02 Philadelphia, Boot & Saddle
03 Washington, U Street Music Hall
10 Paris, Point FMR
11 Wiesbaden, Sclachthof
12 Munich, Ampere
13 Vienna, Chelsea
15 Berlin, Musik & Frieden
16 Hamburg, Molotow
17 Amsterdam, Paradiso
18 Brussels, Botanique
27 London, Bush Hall
29 Edinburgh, Liquid Rooms


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now