Listen Sundara Karma announce new album ‘Ulfilas’ Alphabet’, share ‘One Last Night On This Earth’

Sundara Karma announce new album ‘Ulfilas’ Alphabet’, share ‘One Last Night On This Earth’

The record will come out next March via Chess Club/RCA.

They announced a huge UK tour yesterday, and Sundara Karma have now revealed details of their second album!

‘Ulfilas’ Alphabet’ will come out on 1st March next year via Chess Club/RCA, and the band have shared a second track from it.

‘One Last Night On This Earth’ was shared as Annie Mac’s Hottest Record last night (31st October), and follows comeback single ‘Illusions’ in previewing the follow-up to 2017 debut ‘Youth Is Only Ever Fun In Retrospect’.

“Normally I’ll have a batch of ideas and I’ll chip away at them for months until something emerges but for this song I was fortunate enough to have that moment where everything fell into place,” frontman Oscar Pollock says of the new track.

“I wanted to write a song about an extra-terrestrial who’s been sent to Earth to observe human interaction. The being’s mission is to find an emotion that their species has never felt before but it ends up finding nothing…until it falls in love the night before it has to leave and realises, ahh this is the trick, this is the game we haven’t been playing.”

Listen to ‘One Last Night On This Earth’, read our interview with the band about album two here, and view the band’s tour dates and the new album’s tracklisting below.

01 A Song For My Future Self
02 One Last Night On This Earth
03 Greenhands
04 Symbols of Joy & Eternity
05 Higher States
06 The Changeover
07 Illusions
08 Little Smart Houses
09 Duller Days
10 Sweet Intentions
11 Rainbow Body
12 Ulfilas’ Alphabet
13 Home (There Was Never Any Reason To Feel So Alone)

02 Glasgow, Barrowland
04 Nottingham, Rock City
06 Manchester, Victoria Warehouse
08 Bristol, O2 Academy
09 Sheffield, O2 Academy
10 Birmingham, Institute
12 Southampton, Guildhall
13 London, Brixton Academy

More like this

Moving On Up: Willie J Healey

Moving On Up: Willie J Healey

It’s been a slow and steady journey for Willie J Healey, but new LP ‘Twin Heavy’ finds the singer coming into his own, and making some new mates along the way.

Divine Intervention: Angel Olsen

Divine Intervention: Angel Olsen

For her new opus, ‘Whole New Mess’ finds Angel Olsen looking to the future but reaching back to the past, to an emotionally-purging set of recordings that would lead the singer to her rawest work yet.