Festivals Mac DeMarco, Shame, Whitney and more to play Iceland Airwaves

Mac DeMarco, Shame, Whitney and more to play Iceland Airwaves
Photo: Carolina Faruolo

Anna Of The North, Boy Azooga and more are also heading north this November.

The first names for this year’s Iceland Airwaves are out!

Mac DeMarco, Shame and Whitney lead the list of the first 30 names for the festival, which runs between 6th-9th November in the Icelandic capital of Reykjavik.

They’ll be joined at the fest by Anna Of The North, Boy Azooga and loads more.

Mac DeMarco recently announced details of a US headline tour, and that a new album will be on the way in 2019(!).

Read our 2017 cover feature with him here.

View the full list of bands for Iceland Airwaves below.


Mac DeMarco (CA) // Whitney (US) // Shame (UK) // Anna of the North (NO) // Boy Azooga (UK) // Georgia (UK) // Alexandra Stréliski (CA) // The Howl & The Hum (UK) // SONS (BE) // Murkage Dave (UK) // Amanda Tenfjord (NO) // Pavvla (ES) // The Garrys (UK)


Aron Can // Auðn // Auður // Berndsen // Between Mountains // Ceasetone // Elín Sif // GDRN // Grísalappalísa // Hatari // Hildur // IamHelgi // Matthildur // Moses Hightower // Une Misère // Vök // Warmland


We’re often asked about you, our readers. So we’d really appreciate it if you’d offer up a bit of information about you, and your music-loving habits by filling in our 2019 readers’ survey.

Click here to reach the 2019 DIY readers’ survey.

(Don’t worry, none of what we’re asking for is personally identifiable - and no questions are compulsory.)

More like this

Albums of 2020: Shame

Albums of 2020: Shame

Crash-landing into indie’s premier league with ‘Songs of Praise’, Shame have been on a round-the-world trip of gigs ever since. Knuckling down for its follow up, get ready to join the whirlwind again.

Albums of 2020: Dream Wife

Albums of 2020: Dream Wife

Not content with putting out an incendiary debut, Dream Wife spent their first years creating an inclusive world around them. Now, they’re getting ready to welcome everyone back in for a second time.