Listen Marika Hackman shares new track ‘the one’

She’s shared a second cut from her forthcoming new album ‘Any Human Friend’.

Marika Hackman has offered up another taste of her forthcoming new album ‘Any Human Friend’.

Following on from the album’s first cut ‘i’m not where you are’, Marika’s now shared ‘the one’, the first track that was written for her third album.

Speaking of the track itself, she’s said that ‘the one’ is “probably the poppiest song I’ve ever written. I loved the idea of inhabiting this ridiculous arrogant rock star character who has totally fucked their career by writing too many sad songs.”

‘Any Human Friend’ is due for release on 9th August via AMF Records (and via Sub Pop in the US) and was co-produced by David Wrench and herself. Check out her upcoming live shows below, and listen to ‘the one’ at the bottom of the article.

15-18 Green Man Festival

21 Thekla - Bristol
23 Oran Mor - Glasgow
24 Brudenell Social Club - Leeds
25 Band On The Wall - Manchester
26 Islington Assembly Hall - London

3 back issues for £7

3 back issues for £7

Buy Now

More like this

Cover Girl: Marika Hackman

Cover Girl: Marika Hackman

Marika Hackman spent the strange summer recording takes on Beyoncé, Radiohead and some of music’s biggest stars. “It gave me a big sense of relief,” she explains of her new ‘Covers’ LP.