Listen Villagers offers up new track ‘Summer’s Song’

Villagers offers up new track 'Summer’s Song'

The new track follows on from Conor O’Brien’s 2018 album ‘The Art Of Pretending To Swim’.

Not content with having released an album last year, Villagers has now offered a new track titled ‘Summer’s Song’.

Having released his fourth album ‘The Art Of Pretending To Swim’ just last year - read our verdict here - Conor O’Brien has now offered up his new track, which comes produced by himself before being mixed by David Fridmann.

Speaking of the track itself, O’Brien has said: “‘Summer’s Song’ is the closest I’ll ever get to writing a pure pop song. I just had to roll with it and I’m glad I did; it was really just an excuse to make the horns sound like sunbeams. Boy it’s fun to play live. I can’t quite believe we managed to get the magical touch of Dave Fridmann in on the mix.”

You can check out the animated video - animated by Joe May and illustrated by Patricio Bauzá - at the bottom of the page.

Villagers also has a hefty touring schedule for the rest of 2019. Check out Conor O’Brien’s upcoming live shows below.

12 Iveagh Gardens, Dublin
18 Galway Arts Festival, Galway
19 Cyprus Avenue, Cork
20 Ballykeeffee Amphitheatre, Kilkenny

02 Festival N2, Chaves, Portugal
07 Moods Festival, Bruges, Belgium
15 Edinburgh International Festival, Edinburgh
16 Green Man Festival, Abergavenny, Wales
23 Open House Festival, Bangor
30 Into The Great Wide Open, Vlieland, Netherlands
31 Bruis Festival, Maastricht

01 Golden Leaves Festival, Darmstadt, Germany

07 Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands
08 LantarenVenster, Rotterdam, Netherlands
09 Rolling Stone Park Festival, Rust, Germany
11 Zakk, Dusseldorf, Germany
12 Strom, Munich, Germany
13 UT Connewitz, Leipzig, Germany
16 Rolling Stone Beach, Weissenhauser Strand, Germany
17 Burgerweehuis, Deventer, Netherlands
18 Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

Get your copy of the latest issue

More like this