Listen Death Cab For Cutie announce ‘The Blue EP’, share first track ‘Kids in ‘99’

Death Cab For Cutie announce 'The Blue EP', share first track 'Kids in '99'
Photo: Eliot Lee Hazel

The five-track record will be out in September!

Indie legends Death Cab For Cutie have announced some brand new music following last year’s ninth studio album, ‘Thank You For Today’. Sharing the news today, the group will release ‘The Blue EP’ in September and are dropping the first track ‘Kids In ‘99’ today.

Written in tribute for the three children who lost their lives during the 1999 Bellingham Olympic Pipeline explosion in Seattle, Ben Gibbard said on the inspiration behind this track: “The Olympic Pipeline explosion in 1999 was a tragedy that really affected me while we were living in Bellingham. After all these years I felt it was worthy of its own folk song.”

Have a listen to the poignant new song, and see the full tracklist for ‘The Blue EP’ below:


1. To The Ground

2. Kids in ’99

3. Man In Blue

4. Before The Bombs

5. Blue Bloods

Get your copy of the latest issue

More like this