Confirmed Thundercat confirms new album ‘It Is What It Is’

Thundercat confirms new album 'It Is What It Is'

He’s also sharing our first glimpse into what the record will hold with new song ‘Black Qualls (featuring Steve Lacy and Steve Arrington)’.

Sharing the news that his new album ‘It Is What It Is’ is set to arrive on 3rd April, Thundercat is giving us that mid-week boost we all need!

“This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that,” he explains. “It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

Produced by Flying Lotus and Thundercat himself, the follow-up to 2017’s ‘Drunk’ will also feature Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole and Zack Fox.

And to get us even more excited, Thundercat is sharing first cut ‘Black Qualls’ which features Steve Lacy and Steve Arrington!

See the full album track list below:

“It Is What It Is” Album Tracklist:

1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26

2. Innerstellar Love

3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)

4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)

5. Miguel’s Happy Dance

6. How Sway

7. Funny Thing

8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)

9. Dragonball Durag

10. How I Feel

11. King Of The Hill

12. Unrequited Love

13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)

14. Existential Dread

15. It Is What It Is

Get your copy of the latest issue

More like this

Thundercat - It Is What It Is

Thundercat - It Is What It Is

The LP’s darker moments are its most affecting, but the playful brushes of humour throughout never diminish anything.