Confirmed GUM announces fifth studio album ‘Out In The World’

GUM announces fifth studio album 'Out In The World'
Photo: Sam Kristofski

And he’s sharing album cut ‘Don’t Let It Go Out’ to celebrate.

Two years on since the release of ‘The Underdog’, GUM - aka Tame Impala and Pond multi-instrumentalist Jay Watson - has announced that he’ll be releasing his fifth studio album, ‘Out In The World’, on 12th June via Spinning Top Records’.

“This album is my attempt at making a record that combines my fascination of how other people live their lives, with my own internal desire to analyse mine and improve it,” he explains. “‘Out In The World’ was a phrase that conjured a lot of grandeur and ego, yet somehow felt really small and wholesome at the same time.”

To celebrate, he’s also unveiling new track ‘Don’t Let It Go Out’. “‘Don’t Let It Go Out’ is about our modern desire to capture or record and keep every moment,” he elaborates. “The ease to not only do all this, but then lose it forever down the track inspires and disturbs me.”

Check out the new song and full track list below.

‘Out In The World’ Tracklisting:
1. Weightless In L.A.
2. Airwalkin’
3. Out In The World
4. The Thrill Of Doing It Right
5. Many Tears To Cry
6. Alphabet Soup
7. Don’t Let It Go Out 8. Down The Dream
9. Low To Low
10. You Make Your Own Luck

Get your copy of the latest issue

More like this

GUM - The Underdog

GUM - The Underdog

As expected, bleary-eyed psychedelic pop numbers are the main ingredient here.