Confirmed Marika Hackman announces new album ‘Covers’

She’s sharing her version of Grimes’ ‘Realiti’ now.

Sharing the news today, Marika Hackman announced that she is back with her brand new self-produced album ‘Covers’, due for release on 13th November via Transgressive/Sub Pop.

Containing reworkings of tracks by Air, Alvvays, Beyonce, Edith Frost, Grimes, Elliott Smith, Muna, Radiohead, The Shins, and Sharon Van Etten, Marika is sharing her cover of Grimes’ ‘Art Angels’ cut ‘Realiti’ alongside the announcement.

“When it comes to covers,” she elaborates, “I like to pick songs which I have been listening to obsessively for a while. It gives me a natural understanding of the music, and lets me be more innovative with how I transform it.”

Alongside the news, Marika has also confirmed that she’ll be playing a live stream with her full band on album the release day, with tickets available to be purchased with album pre-orders.

Listen to the first track now, and peep the full ‘Covers’ track list below!

‘Covers’ Tracklisting:
1. You Never Wash Up After Yourself
2. Phantom Limb
3. Playground Love
4. Realiti
5. Jupiter 4
6. Pink Light
7. Between The Bars
8. Temporary Loan
9. In Undertow
10. All Night

3 back issues for £7

3 back issues for £7

Buy Now

More like this

Cover Girl: Marika Hackman

Cover Girl: Marika Hackman

Marika Hackman spent the strange summer recording takes on Beyoncé, Radiohead and some of music’s biggest stars. “It gave me a big sense of relief,” she explains of her new ‘Covers’ LP.