Confirmed The War On Drugs to release live album ‘LIVE DRUGS’

It’s their first new album since 2017’s ‘A Deeper Understanding’.

Three years on since the release of ‘A Deeper Understanding’, The War On Drugs have announced that they’ll be releasing a brand new live album, ‘LIVE DRUGS’, on 20th November.

Made up of a collection of faves, the record - which will be released on bandleader Adam Granduciel’s own Super High Quality Records label - is 70 minutes, reflecting how the band’s typical live show would flow and shows the evolution of their live shows over the years.

“As a band leader, I always want to know where a song can go,” Adam explains. “Even though we’ve recorded it, mastered it, put it out, and been touring on it, it doesn’t mean that we just have to do it the same way forever. It feels like it’s kind of a reset, to be able to put something out that’s a really good interpretation of the way we interpret our music live. Even though this recording is from a year of tours, this is really how these six guys evolved as a band from 2014 to 2019.”

Check out lead single ‘Pain (Live)’, alongside the full track list, below.

‘LIVE DRUGS’ Tracklisting:
1. An Ocean Between The Waves (Live)
2. Pain (Live)
3. Strangest Thing (Live)
4. Red Eyes (Live)
5. Thinking Of A Place (Live)
6. Buenos Aires Beach (Live)
7. Accidentally Like a Martyr (Live)
8. Eyes to the Wind (Live)
9. Under the Pressure (Live)
10. In Reverse (Live)


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now

More like this