Listen Kevin Morby shares new track ‘Sundowner’

Kevin Morby shares new track ‘Sundowner’

It’s the title track of his forthcoming album.

With his new record ‘Sundowner’ our on 16th October via Dead Oceans, Kevin Morby is unveiling the title track.

Following last year’s ‘Oh My God’ album, Kevin says of ‘Sundowner’, “I wrote the entire album wearing headphones, hunched over the 424, letting my voice and guitar pass through the machine, getting lost in the warmth of the tape as if another version of myself was living on the inside, singing back at me. I was mesmerized by the magic of the four track not only as a recording device, but also an instrument, and considered it my songwriting partner throughout the whole process.”

“It is a depiction of isolation,” he continues. “Of the past. Of an uncertain future. Of provisions. Of an omen. Of a dead deer. Of an icon. Of a Los Angeles themed hotel in rural Kansas. Of billowing campfires, a mermaid and a highway lined in rabbit fur. It is a depiction of the nervous feeling that comes with the sky’s proud announcement that another day will be soon coming to a close as the pink light recedes and the street lamps and house lights suddenly click on.”

Listen to the title track below.

‘Sundowner’ Tracklisting:
1. Valley
2. Brother, Sister
3. Sundowner
4. Campfire
5. Wander
6. Don’t Underestimate Midwest American Sun
7. A Night At The Little Los Angeles
8. Jamie
9. Velvet Highway
10. Provisions

More like this