News The Antlers announce new album ‘Green To Gold’

And they’re sharing new track ‘Solstice’ to celebrate.

Seven years on since the release of ‘Familiars’, The Antlers have confirmed that their new album ‘Green To Gold’ will be arriving on 24th March via Transgressive.

Sharing new track ‘Solstice’ to celebrate the news, lead singer and songwriter Peter Silberman explains, “’Solstice’ is a flashback to the infinite days of peak childhood summer, innocent barefoot hikes, staying outside all afternoon and late into the evening, well past it being too dark to see. But it’s remembered from the vantage of a present day that feels unbearably long rather than joyously endless. It’s an invocation of those simpler times, an attempt to conjure the lightness of youth, before life got so damn complicated.”

“I think this is the first album I’ve made that has no eeriness in it,” he adds, “I set out to make Sunday morning music.

“Most of the songs on ‘Green to Gold’ are culled from conversations with my friends and my partner. It’s less ambiguous about who’s speaking and who’s listening.”

“I think the shift in tone is the result of getting older. It doesn’t make sense for me to try to tap into the same energy that I did ten or fifteen years ago, because I continue to grow as a person, as I’m sure our audience does too. ‘Green to Gold’ is about this idea of gradual change. People changing over time, struggling to accept change in those they love, and struggling to change themselves. And yet despite all our difficulty with this, nature somehow makes it look easy.”

See the full LP track list below.

‘Green To Gold’ Tracklisting:
1. Strawflower
2. Wheels Roll Home
3. Solstice
4. Stubborn Man
5. Just One Sec
6. It Is What It Is
7. Volunteer
8. Green To Gold
9. Porchlight
10. Equinox

3 back issues for £7

3 back issues for £7

Buy Now

More like this

Lucky Dip: The Antlers

Lucky Dip: The Antlers

Peter and Darby talk being recognised in the street (or not), immortality and favourite colours.