Listen William Doyle releases new single ‘Nothing At All’

William Doyle releases new single ‘Nothing At All’
Photo: Ryan MacPhail

Lifted from his upcoming album ‘Great Spans Of Muddy Time’.

With his brand new album ‘Great Spans Of Muddy Time’ arriving on 19th March via Tough Love Records, William Doyle is sharing new synth-pop single ‘Nothing At All’.

“The album this turned out to be – and that I’ve wanted to make for ages – is a kind of Englishman-gone-mad, scrambling around the verdancy of the country’s pastures looking for some sense,” William says of the record. “It has its seeds in Robert Wyatt, early Eno, Robyn Hitchcock, and Syd Barrett.”

“I became obsessed with Monty Don. I like his manner and there’s something about him I relate to. He once described periods of depression in his life as consisting of ‘nothing but great spans of muddy time’. When I read that quote I knew it would be the title of this record,” he continues. “Something about the sludgy mulch of the album’s darker moments, and its feel of perpetual autumnal evening, seemed to fit so well with those words. I would also be lying if I said it didn’t chime with my mental health experiences as well.”

Listen to ‘Nothing At All’ below.

‘Great Spans Of Muddy Time’ Tracklisting:
1. I Need To Keep You In My Life
2. And Everything Changed (But I Feel Alright)
3. Somewhere Totally Else
4. Shadowtackling
5. Who Cares
6. Nothing At All
7. Rainfalls
8. New Uncertainties
9. St. Giles’ Hill
10. Semi-bionic
11. A Forgotten Film
12. Theme from Muddy Time
13. [a sea of thoughts behind it]

More like this

The Full Monty: William Doyle

The Full Monty: William Doyle

On ‘Great Spans of Muddy Time’, William Doyle is letting down his guard, leaning into his eccentricities and paying homage to… Monty Don?

The Age of Enlightenment: Iceage

The Age of Enlightenment: Iceage

New album, new sound, new attitude: after a decade in the game, ‘Seek Shelter’ finds the hard edges of Iceage’s magnetic frontman Elias Bender Rønnenfelt finally beginning to thaw.