News Japanese Breakfast announces new album ‘Jubilee’

Japanese Breakfast announces new album 'Jubilee'
Photo: Peter Ash

And she’s sharing lead single ‘Be Sweet’ too!

After posting a TikTok teaser last week, Japanese Breakfast has made her official return, announcing that her new album ‘Jubilee’ will be arriving on 4th June via Dead Oceans!

The highly-anticipated follow-up to 2017’s ‘Soft Sounds From Another Planet’, Michelle Zauner is giving us the first taste of what to expect with lead single ‘Be Sweet’.

“After spending the last five years writing about grief, I wanted our follow up to be about joy,” Michelle explains. “For me, a third record should feel bombastic and so I wanted to pull out all the stops for this one. I wrote ‘Be Sweet’ with Jack Tatum from Wild Nothing a few years ago. I’ve been holding onto it for so long and am so excited to finally put it out there.”

Alongside the album news, Michelle will releasing her long-awaited book based on her viral 2018 New Yorker essay, Crying In H Mart, on 5th August.

Check out ‘Be Sweet’ below!

‘Jubilee’ Tracklisting:
1. Paprika
2. Be Sweet
3. Kokomo, IN
4. Slide Tackle
5. Posing in Bondage
6. Sit
7. Savage Good Boy
8. In Hell
9. Tactics
10. Posing for Cars

Get your copy of the latest issue

More like this

Playing With Magic: Japanese Breakfast

Playing With Magic: Japanese Breakfast

Having spent most of her career exploring the grief and pain of losing her mother, Japanese Breakfast’s Michelle Zauner is flipping the script on ‘Jubilee’, her sparkling new record.