News black midi announce new album ‘Cavalcade’

black midi announce new album 'Cavalcade'

Check out lead single ‘John L’ now.

Announcing the eagerly-awaited follow-up to 2019’s ‘Schlagenheim’, black midi have confirmed that their new album ‘Cavalcade’ will be landing on 28th May via Rough Trade.

“The emphasis when we were making and sequencing ‘Cavalcade’ was to make music that was as dramatic and as exciting as possible,” the band’s Geordie Greep notes of the new record, which sees the group play with a plethora of new characters. “When you’re listening, you can imagine all the characters form a sort of cavalcade,” Cameron Picton adds. “Each tells their story one by one and as each track ends they overtake you, replaced by the next in line.”

Laying the groundwork for the album back in 2019, the group describe a “yearning” to be more considered this time around. “The experience this time round was completely the flipside to ‘Schlagenheim’,” Morgan Simpson says. “A lot of the material was really fresh but that was something that played into our hands and we relished it.”

“It’s easy to get wrapped up in the improvisation myth of divine intervention, that if a song doesn’t happen in the room naturally without it being guided by someone specifically, when we’re all just feeling the vibe, then it’s not proper and it’s not pure,” Geordie adds. “That’s kind of a dangerous thing because you end up never trying something different, or you just abandon an idea if it doesn’t work at first because you’re always waiting for that thing to arrive perfect.”

Have a listen to lead single ‘John L’ below.

‘Cavalcade’ Tracklisting
1. John L
2. Marlene Dietrich
3. Chondromalcia Patella
4. Slow
5. Diamond Stuff
6. Dethroned
7. Hogwash and Balderdash
8. Ascending Forth

Get your copy of the latest issue

More like this