Listen Bachelor unveil new track ‘Sick of Spiraling’

Bachelor unveil new track 'Sick of Spiraling'
Photo: Tonje Thilesen

Lifted from their upcoming debut album ‘Doomin’ Sun’.

With their debut album ‘Doomin’ Sun’ arriving on 28th May on Lucky Number, Bachelor - aka Jay Som and Palehound - are giving us the latest glimpse of what gems we can expect, sharing new track ‘Sick of Spiraling’.

“Sick of Spiraling is one of the last songs we wrote and recorded together in Topanga,” the pair explain. “Both of us initially tried to play drums on the song but the groove wasn’t right so we enlisted help from James Krivchenia. He came over for a day and drummed on a few songs on the record, he really brought this song to life with his unique style. Ellen had the riff in her voice memos for a while and had originally imagined it as a slow kinda melancholic song. Once we got together and listened back to the riff we heard it a whole new way as an upbeat driving song. After that Ellen wrote lyrics inspired by driving on tour and the rush and anxiety of being completely untethered and unprotected on the open road.”

Have a listen below.

‘Doomin’ Sun’ Tracklisting:
1. Back of My Hand
2. Sand Angel
3. Stay in the Car
4. Went Out Without You
5. Spin Out
6. Anything at All
7. Moon
8. Sick of Spiraling
9. Aurora
10. Doomin’ Sun

See Bachelor live at the following dates.

13 - Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom
14 - Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
15 - Nashville, TN @ Brooklyn Bowl
17 - Dallas, TX @ Trees
18 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall- Downstairs
19 - Austin, TX @ Scoot Inn
20 - San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger
22 - Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole
24 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Theatre at Ace Hotel
27 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore

Get your copy of the latest issue

More like this

Bachelor - Doomin’ Sun

Bachelor - Doomin’ Sun

Each song pirouettes on the emotional chasm between intimate, physical union, and lonesome psychological vulnerability.

Two's Company: Bachelor

Two’s Company: Bachelor

When Jay Som’s Melina Duterte and Palehound’s Ellen Kempner met, they instantly became bezzies. A few years later, they’re introducing Bachelor: a collab built on mutual, big-hearted admiration.

Billie Eilish - Happier Than Ever

Billie Eilish - Happier Than Ever

Not just a triumph in progressing a signature sound into new territories, but a lesson in how to own your reality with confidence and class.