News Holly Humberstone announces new EP ‘The Walls Are Way Too Thin’

And she’s sharing new Matty Healy co-write ‘Please Don’t Leave Just Yet’ to celebrate!

Set for release on 5th November, Holly Humberstone has announced her eagerly awaited new EP ‘The Walls Are Way Too Thin’!

Sharing new song ‘Please Don’t Leave Just Yet’ to celebrate, the heartstring-pulling track was co-written by The 1975’s Matty Healy.

“The song is about wanting someone to stay so badly, even if only for five more minutes, because you know how much it’ll hurt when they leave,” Holly explains. “I think the desperation in the words really sums up how I was feeling at the time and how so many people must’ve been feeling last year when we were all completely starved of human connection! I often write songs with a bit of a visual in my head, and I kept picturing solitary places, like drifting far out to sea, so far that you can’t find a way back, or old deserted cargo shipping yards with all the lights at the edge of the city.”

Speaking to us earlier this year, she said of working with Matty, “I’m such an awkward person so I found it really hard to play it cool. I’m still kind of not over being starstruck by him. I’ve been such a huge fan of The 1975, and I have so many memories associated with their songs. It’s such a cool thing to be able to work with the guy who wrote the soundtrack to my adolescent years, you know?”

“The writing for the second EP has been really fun because I’ve been able to experiment and expand my little sonic universe,” she added. “I’m constantly trying to be better than my first song, and I think it’s a million times better than my first EP.”

Revisit the full interview here!

‘The Walls Are Way Too Thin’ EP Tracklisting:
1. Haunted House
2. The Walls Are Way Too Thin
3. Please Don’t Leave Just Yet
4. Thursday
5. Scarlett
6. Friendly Fire


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now

More like this