News Sloppy Jane signs to Phoebe BridgersSaddest Factory Records and announces new album ‘Madison’

Listen to new song ‘Party Anthem’.

Signing to Phoebe Bridgers’ Saddest Factory Records, Sloppy Jane - aka Haley Dahl - has announced that her new album ‘Madison’ will be arriving on 5th November.

“Phoebe and I made friends in high school when I was goth and didn’t bathe and she wore dresses with little bicycles on them - we mistook each other for cool then, and it lasted,” Haley explains. “Phoebe is one of my closest friends, and is also someone who has always seen that the things that make my work different are what make it valuable. She played bass in Sloppy Jane. When I was moving to New York I talked about how I wanted to make the band bigger and incorporate chamber instruments, and a lot of people didn’t get what I meant, but Phoebe said, ‘Go get your orchestra.’

“When I started talking about recording in caves, she was one of the few people to really get it immediately and thought it was the coolest thing. To work with someone who has so much personal context and enthusiasm was kind of a no-brainer. The label name “Saddest Factory Records” came from a joke I made on twitter, and I kind of think that’s representative of what my ideal professional trajectory looks like- me and my same friends who understand each other making the same jokes over and over again while our platforms expand.”

Phoebe adds, “I have never seen an audience more captivated than at a Sloppy Jane show. Whether it was a house show in Reseda where the opener was a trash fire, or a 2000 seat theatre in New York. They have been my favorite band since I was 16. I am never surprised, and always impressed. I’m glad to live in a world where Haley Dahl wanting to go to a cave to make a record just makes sense. This is already a classic album.”

Sharing new track ‘Party Anthem’ to celebrate, check it out now.

‘Madison’ Tracklisting:
1. Overture
2. Party Anthem
3. Judy’s Bedroom
4. Bianca Castafiore
5. Lullaby Formica
6. Madison
7. Wilt
8. Wonderama
9. The Constable
10. Epilogue

See Sloppy Jane live at the following dates:

07 - New York City, NY - Baby’s Alright^

12 - San Francisco, CA - The Chapel*
13 - Felton, CA - Felton Music Hall*
17 - Los Angeles, CA - Zebulon*
19 - Pioneertown, CA - Venue TBD*
20 - San Diego, CA - The Casbah*
21 - Tucson, AZ - Club Congress*
24 - Houston, TX - The Secret Group*
25 - New Orleans, LA - Gasa Gasa*
26 - Jacksonville, FL - Intuition Ale Works*
28 - Orlando, FL - The Social*

01 - Atlanta, GA - Terminal West*
02 - Nashville, TN - The Basement East*
03 - Asheville, NC - The Grey Eagle*
04 - Durham, NC - Motorco Music Hall*
05 - Baltimore, MD - Ottobar*
07 - Cambridge, MA - The Sinclair*
08 - Providence, RI - Columbia Theatre*
10 - New York City, NY - Bowery Ballroom*
11 - Holyoke, MA - Gateway City Arts*
12 - Kingston, NY - Tubby’s Kingston*

*Opening for Iceage


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now

More like this

Get To Know... Sloppy Jane

Get To Know… Sloppy Jane

We catch up with the latest signee to Phoebe Bridgers’ Saddest Factory Records after the release of her newest album ‘Madison’.