News Placebo announce new album ‘Never Let Me Go’

Photo: Mads Perch

Check out new track ‘Surrounded By Spies’ now!

Set for release on 25th March, Placebo have announced their long-awaited eighth studio album ‘Never Let Me Go’, nine years on from the release of their last record ‘Loud Like Love’.

Sharing new track ‘Surrounded By Spies’ alongside the news, Brian Molko says, “I began writing the lyrics when I discovered my neighbours were spying on me on behalf of parties with a nefarious agenda. I then began to ponder the countless ways in which our privacy has been eroded and stolen since the introduction of worldwide CCTV cameras that now employ racist facial recognition technologies; the rise of the internet and the cellphone, which has turned practically every user into a paparazzo and spectators in their own lives, and how we have mostly all offered up personal information to enormous multinationals whose sole intent is to exploit us.

“I used the cut-up technique invented by William S Burroughs and popularized in modern song by David Bowie. It’s a true story told through a lens of paranoia, complete disgust for modern society’s values and the deification of surveillance capitalism. The narrator is at the end of their tether, hopeless and afraid, completely at odds with our newfound progress and the god of money.”

Check out ‘Surrounded By Spies’ below.

‘Never Let Me Go’ Tracklisting:
1. Forever Chemicals
2. Beautiful James
3. Hugz
4. Happy Birthday In The Sky
5. The Prodigal
6. Surrounded By Spies
7. Try Better Next Time
8. Sad White Reggae
9. Twin Demons
10. Chemtrails
11. This Is What You Wanted
12. Went Missing
13. Fix Yourself

See Placebo live at the following dates:

18 - Portsmouth - Guildhall
19 - Brighton - Brighton Centre
21 - Liverpool - Eventim Olympia
22 - Manchester - O2 Victoria Warehouse
24 - Cardiff - Motorpoint Arena
26 - London - O2 Brixton Academy
27 - London - O2 Brixton Academy
29 - Leicester - De Montford Hall
30 - Leeds - O2 Academy Leeds

02 - Newcastle - O2 City Hall
03 - Glasgow - O2 Academy Glasgow
05 - Dublin - 3 Arena
07 - Cambridge - Corn Exchange
08 - Birmingham - O2 Academy 1

More like this

Placebo: Catastrophe in Motion

Placebo: Catastrophe in Motion

More than 25 years into their career, Placebo are as vital as they’ve ever been. On the cult heroes’ eighth album ‘Never Let Me Go’, they’re steeling themselves for the end of the world as we know it.