The Vaccines to release new EP, ‘Planet of the Youth’

Photo: Frank Fieber

It’ll be out in April.

The Vaccines are to follow last year’s ‘Back In Love City’ with a new EP next month.

‘Planet Of The Youth’, set for release on 8th April, features the recently-released track ‘Thunder Fever’, as well as new number ‘Disaster Girl’, shared today.

“I’d written down the title after seeing the NFT of the original ‘Disaster Girl’ meme sell for $500,000,” says frontman Justin Young. “It all seemed very apocalyptic to me and fit in with this strange world of the planet of the youth that I was starting to build in my head. When you first hear it sung, Disaster Girl sounds like some kind of superhero, but when you realise there is a comma between the two words then the meaning obviously flips. Sometimes we’re our own worst enemies in our most meaningful relationships but we don’t see it until everything has gone up in flames.”

The EP track listing is:

'Disaster Girl'
'Hometown Of Jupiter'
'Planet of The Youth'
'Thunder Fever'
'Twenty Four Seven'
'Young Meteors'

The Vaccines tour the UK next month.

13 Aylesbury Waterside Theatre
14 Manchester Victoria Warehouse
15 Liverpool Uni Mountford Hall
16 Leeds Academy
18 Portsmouth Guildhall
19 Birmingham Academy
21 London Hammersmith Apollo
23 Newcastle City Hall
24 Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom

Listen to ‘Disaster Girl’ below.


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now