Listen Bloc Party share new track ‘If We Get Caught’

Photo: Wunmi Onibudo

It’s the latest preview of sixth album ‘Alpha Games’, out next month.

Ahead of the release of their new album ‘Alpha Games’ on 29th April via Infectious/BMG, Bloc Party have shared a new track called ‘If We Get Caught’, which you can hear below.

The track follows ‘Sex Magik’, ‘The Girls Are Fighting’ and ‘Traps’ in previewing the band’s sixth studio album.

Speaking of the new track, Kele Okereke said: “There are only two songs that I feel like have any tenderness on the record and ‘If We Get Caught’ is one of them. It’s really about recognising that the game is coming to an end and about trying to steal a moment of tenderness with your partner before the curtain comes crashing down.

“I think it’s about trying to find moments where you can really connect with someone amidst all of the chaos that’s going on in the world.”

Listen to ‘If We Get Caught’ below.

Speaking to us for our February issue about their forthcoming sixth record, Okereke said: “There’s a lot of conflict in the music. There’s a lot of people fucking each other over, people lying to each other, people manipulating each other. That is a kind of direct response to what I was seeing; we actually saw that happening all over the world in the last few years. It was quite an ugly time, and I think that has played into the music.”

See Bloc Party live at the following dates:

02 - Great Hall, Cardiff, Wales, UK - BBC 6 Music Festival Headline Performance

10 - La Salle Pleyel, Paris, France
11 - L'Aéronef, Lille, France
12 - Cirque Royal, Brussels, Belgium
14 - Store Vega, Copenhagen, Denmark
15 - Tempodrom, Berlin, Germany
16 - E-Werk, Cologne, Germany
17 - TivoliVredenburg Ronda, Utrecht, Netherlands
26 - O2 Academy 1, Birmingham, UK
27 - Rock City, Nottingham, UK
28 - Alexandra Palace, London, UK
30 - O2 Academy, Bristol, UK
31 - O2 Victoria Warehouse, Manchester, UK

02 - O2 City Hall, Newcastle, UK
03 - The Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow, UK
04 - O2 Academy, Leeds, UK

Get tickets to watch Bloc Party live now.

More like this

Playing By Their Own Rules: Bloc Party

Playing By Their Own Rules: Bloc Party

‘Alpha Games’ marks Bloc Party’s sixth studio release and a return to the spiky outbursts that first shot them to fame. Beneath the riffs, however, Kele Okereke is exploring a far more sinister arena.