Listen Ethel Cain reveals new track ‘Strangers’

Her debut album arrives next month.

Ahead of the release of her debut album ‘Preacher’s Daughter’ on 12th May via Daughters of Cain, Ethel Cain is sharing her latest single ‘Strangers’.

“This is the second song I wrote for this record, without the intention that it would become the ending,” she explains. “Looking back, I can’t imagine a more perfect resolution to this lineage. I think subconsciously, this song was always the end of the road. It’s the realization that some things cannot be avoided, only accepted, and that just because it isn’t a happy ending, doesn’t mean it’s a bad one. There is an ending in every beginning, and all things come back around in one strange way or another. You can’t change your past, nor anyone else’s, and the only real strength you have in this lifetime is your forgiveness.”

Have a listen below.

‘Preacher’s Daughter’ Tracklisting:
1. Family Tree (Intro)
2. American Teenager
3. A House in Nebraska
4. Western Nights
5. Family Tree
6. Hard Times
7. Thoroughfare
8. Gibson Girl
9. Ptolemaea
10. August Underground
11. Televangelism
12. Sun Bleached Flies
13. Strangers


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now

More like this

Ethel Cain - Preacher’s Daughter

Ethel Cain - Preacher’s Daughter

Change, escape and identity are not easy things to navigate, and ‘Preacher’s Daughter’ is the dark, unsettling, sprawling beauty that comes out of it.